# DECLARATION OF THE EASTERN SEABOARD AS A REGION FOR THE PURPOSES OF DEVELOPING A REGIONAL SPATIAL DEVELOPMENT FRAMEWORK IN TERMS OF SECTION 18 OF THE ACT

# Published under

GenN 1094 in GG 46573 of 20 June 2022

### Notice in terms of Section 18 of the Spatial Planning and Land Use Management Act (Act 16 of 2013)

I, Angela Thoko Didiza, Minister of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development, after consultation with the Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Premiers of the KwaZulu-Natal and Eastern Cape Provinces and affected Municipal Councils hereby declare the Eastern Seaboard as a region for the purposes of developing a Regional Spatial Development Framework to give effect to national land use policy or priorities in terms of section 18 (3) of the Spatial Planning and Land Use Management Act (Act 16 of 2013) as per Schedule 1 of this notice.

(Signed)

#### MRS A T DIDIZA, MP Minister for Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development

# SCHEDULE 1

#### 1 Delineation of the Region

The region will cover the geographic area of the provinces of the Eastern Cape and KwaZulu-Natal. The following district and local municipalities are included as part of the Eastern Seaboard Region:

KWAZULU NATAL PROVINCE	EASTERN CAPE PROVINCE
HARRY GWALA DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY	OR TAMBO DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY
Dr Nkosazana-Dlamini Zuma Local Municipality	Ingquza Hills Local Municipality
Greater Kokstad Local Municipality	Port St Johns Local Municipality
Ubuhlebezwe Local Municipality	Nyandeni Local Municipality
Umzimkhulu Local Municipality	Mhlontlo Local Municipality
	King Sabatha Dalindyebo Local Municipality
UGU DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY	ALFRED NZO DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY
Ray Nkonyeni Local Municipality	Matatiele Local Municipality
Umdoni Local Municipality	Umzimbuvu Local Municipality
Umzumbe Local Municipality	Mbizana Local Municipality
Umuziwabantu Local Municipality	Ntabankulu Local Municipality

